History of Our Farm

history

historys1
je_story_history3

North Stonington, CT has a history rich in both agriculture and industry. Thanks to its many waterways early mills sprung up with such a proliferation, that the downtown village was once known as Milltown. Although the milling industry is long gone, the agricultural nature of the town continues. Anyone who drives the back roads of North Stonington will see some of the most beautiful farms anywhere. The Edwards family is proud to have joined this longstanding history and agricultural life.

This farm is situated on Chester Main Road, and was indeed once the Chester Maine Farm. The farm was a classic New England dairy and cattle affair for over a century, and early maps of town show that during the 1700′s this was once the Williams Homestead.

In the late 1970’s the farm was donated by Carol Maine to a church in town and it was subsequently sold to a family who started Crosswoods Vineyards in the early 1980’s. Despite a massive effort, a stunning renovation of the barn and an aggressive expansion of the vineyard, success was ultimately elusive and the winery closed. During the next decade a portion of the land was subdivided but the heart of the farm was preserved. In 2000, 48 acres were purchased by the Edwards family. The property included the winery, the historic farmhouse, overgrown but very fertile fields, and even the original “3 holer” outhouse. Farming continues to this day.

je_story_history2

Images provided by
North Stonington Historical Society.

history-of-our-farm